Projects

Private Listed House, East Lothian


A project where the family had outgrown its house but wanted to remain there.

The building, hard on the green in a very picturesque village and Conservation Area with a Castle in its centre, was built as two flats with a single storey smithy on the back.

Made into a single house in the 1950's, with the smithy wing incorporated, and with an additional single storey extension on the smithy more recently completed, the ground floor circulation had become convoluted. There was no bathroom or lavatory upstairs and too few bedrooms.

The proposal added another floor to the smithy, which was a weak end to a truncated main block. This new extension continues the slope of the previous extension up to wrap over the top of a new timber framed and clad structure on the original walls. The cladding is untreated Scottish Larch which has been swept down over the head of the stonework below to form a soft junction between the new and the old.

The works included a full analysis and repair of the house's stonework; the chimneys were shortened in the 1950's and rebuilt in cement rendered brick with poor concrete copes, finials were removed from gables and some of the stone of the external stair to the first floor has become badly deteriorated. It is hoped to be able to rebuild the chimneys using old photographs from the local archive as sources for their appearance.

The project was carried out at Purcell Edinburgh and JGA.

Design Team


Architects: Purcell Edinburgh/JGA
Quantity Surveyor: Davis Langdon
Structural Engineers: McGregor McMahon
Builder: Robert Reid Joinery and Building
Photographs Copyright: Chris Humphries

<< Return to Projects Page